BEFORE COLUMBUS FOUNDATION

The Raymond House • 655 -13th Street • Suite 302 • Oakland, California 94612 www.beforecolumbusfoundation.com



September 14, 2020

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Contact: Justin Desmangles, 916-425-7916

The Before Columbus Foundation announces the Winners of the Forty-first Annual AMERICAN BOOK AWARDS
Ceremonies, Sunday, October 25, 2020, 2:00–3:30 p.m.

Oakland, CA – The Before Columbus Foundation announces the Winners of the Forty-first Annual AMERICAN BOOK AWARDS. The 2020 American Book Award winners will be formally recognized on Sunday, October 25, 2020, from 2:00–3:30 p.m., online.

Information: https://sfpl.org/events/2020/10/25/celebration-columbus-foundation-41st-

annual-american-book-award

Reservations: http://bit.ly/AmBkAward10-25-20
SFPL YouTube Live: https://youtu.be/KlJOiwseuMg

Connect with the Before Columbus Foundation: Website | Facebook

The American Book Awards were created to provide recognition for outstanding literary achievement from the entire spectrum of America's diverse literary community. The purpose of the awards is to recognize literary excellence without limitations or restrictions. There are no categories, no nominees, and therefore no losers. The award winners range from well-known and established writers to under-recognized authors and first works. There are no quotas for diversity, the winners list simply reflects it as a natural process. The Before Columbus Foundation views American culture as inclusive and has always considered the term "multicultural" to be not a description of various categories, groups, or "special interests," but rather as the definition of all of American literature. The Awards are not bestowed by an industry organization, but rather are a writers' award given by other writers.

(continued)

The 2020 American Book Award Winners are:

Reginald Dwayne Betts

Felon: Poems (W.W. Norton)

Sara Borjas

Heart Like a Window, Mouth Like a Cliff (Noemi Press)

Neeli Cherkovski, Raymond Foye, Tate Swindell, editors

Collected Poems of Bob Kaufman (City Lights)

Staceyann Chin

Crossfire: A Litany for Survival (Haymarket)

Kali Fajardo-Anstine

Sabrina & Corina: Stories (One World)

Tara Fickle

The Race Card: From Gaming Technologies to Model Minorities (New York University Press)

Erika Lee

America for Americans: A History of Xenophobia in the United States (Basic Books)

Yoko Ogawa

The Memory Police (Pantheon)

Jake Skeets

Eyes Bottle Dark with a Mouthful of Flowers (Milkweed Editions)

George Takei, Justin Eisinger, Steven Scott, and Harmony Becker

They Called Us Enemy (Top Shelf Productions)

Ocean Vuong

On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous (Penguin)

De'Shawn Charles Winslow

In West Mills (Bloomsbury Publishing)

Albert Woodfox with Leslie George

Solitary: My Story of Transformation and Hope (Grove Press)

Lifetime Achievement:

Eleanor W. Traylor

Editor Award:

The Panopticon Review, **Kofi Natambu**, editor

Publisher Award:

Commune Editions, Jasper Bernes, Joshua Clover, and Juliana Spahr, editors

Oral Literature Award: Amalia Leticia Ortiz

Walter & Lillian Lowenfels Criticism Award: Appalachian Reckoning: A Region Responds to Hillbilly Elegy, edited by **Anthony Harkins** and **Meredith McCarroll**